mind the gap

Pulling into the station

July 28, 2004

The Wedding:

They're Catholic, so Dale and Andrea had a short Mass ceremony. (I'd hate to see what a long one is like.) The church was nice - stained glass windows and all. There were about 80 people or so at the church. Most of those people were from Andrea's family. And by family, I mean "family." (Independent Italian businessmen, anyone?)

Here is the bride and groom on their way out of the church...

Give us a kiss!

Jenny - the only blonde / non-Italian bridesmaid.

I caught Jenny at a bad time, I think - mid-word. That's her man, Chad.

The Reception:

I've never had so much food in my life. Cocktail hour started at seven with a huge line of seafood in the main room and another room with non-seafood. Open bar. (My mom had a martini. That's just funny.) You have to sample everything, right? So we're already feeling full.

Then at eight, we go into the main reception hall. Oh sweet Jesus Mary and Joseph. Already on the tables were plates of proschutto (pardon the spelling), mozzarella, and tomatos. Yum. When Dale and Andrea came in and had their first dance, there were fireworks. No, literally. In the table decorations. (Just the sparkler kind.) Then we had pasta in a vodka sauce, followed by the main course of chicken, steak, or salmon. Then the wedding cake. And then...

*drools*

The dessert bar rolled out. I think they called it the Venetian or something. Six tables with fruit, cakes, pies, and God knows what else. An ice cream bar with all the toppings. A carnival cart with popcorn, candy apples, cotton candy, and penny candy. And then the chocolate fondue fountain. *drools again*

Mom's former boss and Jenny & Dale's Uncle Terry cuttin' a rug with his wife. (Uncle Terry rocks.)

The in-laws. Starting with the dude in blue and going clockwise: Chad, Jenny, Dale, Andrea, Julie, and Dale.

The Rest of the Trip:

So Mom and I decided to take one of those hokey tour bus tours. On a double decker, too. It was kind of fun, actually. We did two loops - uptown and downtown. I got to see a lot of the city - aside from their subway stops, anyways.

This was our first tour guide on the uptown loop. She was funny, but the mic kept dying on her.

This was the second tour guide (downtown loop). He wasn't as funny as the first girl, but he was still cool.

The Apollo theater in Harlem.

Giant rats outside of Madison Square Gardens. (I think there was a protest of some sort.)

The building where Bill Clinton has an office in Harlem.

We saw Yoko Ono's Rolls and her driver outside of her building, but she didn't come out while we were there. Damn. (She freaks me out a little, though.) I didn't want to take a picture of that though. Sorry.

Jenny and her boyf, Chad. He's a little bit country, she's a little bit rock and roll. But he's rad, that Chad. (It was his birthday. We took him out to Rodeo, a steakhouse on 26th and 3rd.) I told Jenny that she can keep this one. They've been a thing for almost a year, I think.

We saw my brother Josh while we were out there. He's moving back to CA next month. (He just graduated from Columbia. Everybody go ooooh and aaah...) Um, what else? I only rode the subway when we took Chad to dinner. (By we, I mean me, Jenny, and two of their friends.) I'm sure there's more, but um, I can't remember.

Oh, the hotel we stayed at was half an avenue off Times Square on 46th. The AC in the hallway was broken. I wanted to die, it was so hot. And it didn't rain while we were there! Thank God.

I think that's about it. I'm so tired. I have 300 e-mails to sift through and who knows what else.

1 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap