mind the gap

Pulling into the station

March 29, 2004

And now... the weekend. Because you're dying to know my big exciting news.

First of all, my Grandmother (my dad's mother) turned seventy-four yesterday. Took her a while to think up the accurate age - she stopped paying attention once she was 65 and got her Senior Citizen Discount. So my mom and I drove out to Salida on Saturday. My uncle made marinara and garlic with bread (as opposed to garlic bread) - fresh, fresh, fresh. Yum. And we had a chocolate chocolate cake, to which my grandmother did the traditional dessert cry of "Rich, rich, rich!" We played a little Quiddler, drank some wine... Drank some more wine.

But on to the good news that you're all dying to hear.

My cousins are finally coming to visit! Yesssssss! Kev supposedly comes out next weekend, but Jeri and Izzy won't be out til the following weekend. In the words of Miss Leslie, this makes me happy in the pants. I'm so happy happy happy. My auntie and uncle are so beyond excited. They're already baby proofing the house and have instructed the dog to leave baby alone. Here's how it will work with the dog - Rusty will sniff Izzy, smell her diaper, and run. End of story. He's a mellow dog, he'll leave her alone.

Time to get the Spoiling Rotton crown on.

The rest of the weekend was blah. I read. I read more. (Homework, mind you.) Oh, well, I take that back. Danielle and I did rent "21 Grams" and "Pieces of April" and watch those with dinner last night. Both were good, yet tweaky. "Pieces of April" made me want to cry, so Gracie you are not allowed to watch it, okay?

We're having issues this morning at work. Like our phone line has been cut off. The 800#. So, yeah, the Boss is on the phone duking it out with SBC or Sprint or whoever the hell we use. It's great fun. He's pissed. They cut it off sometime between Friday afternoon and Saturday afternoon. (I got a "your phone isn't working and I need to get a return number" e-mail on Saturday, that's how we know.) They don't see this as a problem. Don't you love the utility companies?!

0 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap