mind the gap

Pulling into the station

March 23, 2004

I have a small bit of faith restored in humanity.

There is an unwritten rule at schools where you have to pay to park. Like the one I go to now. If you're a morning or a afternoon person who buys a daily permit (which isn't attached to your SSN or car), the unwritten rule is that you stick it back in the permit machine for someone else. Sure, you're dickin' the school out of another $2, but geez, they butt-rape you on the tuition and books... it's only fair.

So last night, I pulled up to the permit machine and a lady walks up to me and hands me her permit. I tried to give her the money for it, but she wouldn't take it. Sometimes people will take the $2 and hand you back one of the bills, splitting it 50/50. She wouldn't even do that. Now that's pretty cool of her.

It's like on Christmas Eve that one time... I was driving home from my Mom's or something and was coming across the bridge. Someone ahead of me had given the toll-taker a $20 - for his car and the next nine. Merry Christmas to us from a random stranger. I didn't have a $20, but I did the same thing the next Thanksgiving - but with a $10. So maybe the next holiday someone that I paid for will pay for a few cars behind her, too...

On another note, I've been watching that Monster House show on Discovery. Not because the designs are cool (well, they are, but that's not why I watch). Because the foreman is friggin' hot. And by hot, I mean H-O-T-T. Yes, two T's. Ty and Andrew (come on TLC people, you know who they are) can just step aside and make way for Steve.

0 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap