mind the gap

Pulling into the station

March 25, 2004

Note to self: Check your planner before you leave work.

I almost missed a doctor's appointment today. I haven't missed it yet, it's at 9:30. But I didn't remember that it was scheduled for TODAY. In the back of my mind, I honestly thought it was for next Tuesday. Good thing I moved that CD on top of my planner and saw - in big red letters, no less - 9:30 DR APPT (PET). Whew. The boss didn't care that I gave him less than an hour's notice either. Which is good because asking to reschedule this appointment would be next to impossible. The wait list for the Dermatologist here is literally 4 months long. But I said the magic words - fair skinned and skin cancer in the family - and I only had to wait three weeks. (I have some freckles that have changed a little too much for my liking. My uncle's skin cancer just reared it's ugly head again and well, with my past sun habits...)

Jenn's birthday was good. We went to Pearl's Cafe in Fremont. A little joint I've seen about a million times, but never thought to go in.

Move over Girl and the Fig, I have a new favorite!

We all had fillet mignon (sp?) - which came with grilled asparagus and this potatos au gratin layered thing. So yummy. We had artichoke hearts with a rosemary/dill/olive oil mayo dressing for an appetizer. Oh, it was so effin' good, people, you don't understand... Then there was dessert. Amir had Bananas Foster, Russ had a peach turnover, and Jenn, Mom, and I had flourless chocolate cake.

And our waiter is an old friend of Holly's - George - and he's flamin'.

Okay, time to go.

0 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap