mind the gap

Pulling into the station

January 07, 2004

There is a new obsession spreading through the community. It's origins... Unknown. A cure? No. Let me enlighten you:

My mom calls me up one day, raving about this game she played with Holly at Holly's friend Carrie's house. "Its a card game, its like... Gin and Boggle. But it's a card game." Okay, mom. "I bought three of them - one for me, one for Grandma and Poppa, one for Su and the kids..." Geez. [Later, just before the Oregon escapade:] "Mom, Dad, Steve, and I played for hours. Steve and Dad are totally addicted!" Great. "They're taking it on their next campout." Swell. And so the epidemic spreads.

Mom came up on Sunday to bring Christmas presents and the like. And she brings... the game. Oh crap. Slightly embarassed that my mom is cornering me and Roomie into playing, I reluctantly pick up my cards and play. And play. And play. And play...

And play.

Roomie, Mom, and I played for what seemed like hours. My God, and it was fun!

So I'll bet you're wondering what this magical, enchanting game is. Magic? Pokemon? No... Quiddler. *pause* Yes, it's called Quiddler. Like I said, this is a card game but instead of the cards being Ace, two, three, etc. and with suits, the cards have letters and points. You deal out the cards, and try to make words with what you've been dealt. On your turn, you can draw a new card, but you have to discard one at the end of your turn. She (or he) with the most points after 8 rounds wins the game.

I'll bet you just read that and were like, God, how boring. That's what I said, too, until I played it.

So then I was on a quest to find a set of my own. Target? WalMart? Borders? Toys'R'Us? No! I found some in a seasonal calendar shop at the outlet mall. On sale. I got two. One for me and one for Roomie. (You can order it online too, but I was too impatient for that.)

So now that you think I'm a total freak... How's YOUR day?

0 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap