mind the gap

Pulling into the station

September 17, 2004

Yesterday was a mostly good day.

Today, on the other hand, is already at ca-ca level, code red. I start off the day by opening my bedroom door right into my head. Hmm. Didn't move out of the way fast enough. Then I get to work and have this very bitchy voice-mail from some lady saying I owe her money for advertising. What the hell? I've never even heard of her company and why would I be advertising? I ask the boss about it and he says that it's someone we did an ad with and he knows about the bill, blah blah. So um, why is she calling me to collect money? My voicemail doesn't say "you've reached accounts"... Then the Boss discovers that the phones are off for some reason and turns them back on. Damn. I was hoping that he wouldn't catch that. Again. (He didn't get it last week, remember.)

And you know my religion teacher? The one who is five days older than G-d? Well... He's still in the hospital and they're not sure if he's going to be able to come back and finish the semester. So we have a new teacher. Who may or may not finish the semester with us. (They're not going to cancel the class, though - they'll just get us a replacement teacher. Jolly good.) So it kind of sucks that he's really that sick.

And remember Vinegar Salad Girl from my class? Woooooooo, man, she really pissed me off last night. First of all, class starts at 7 p.m. She comes in at 7:20. Which is retarded because she works on campus. Then around 7:50 or so, she gets up and walks out of class. And doesn't come back for 15 minutes! Liza got up and went potty and came back in two minutes - what the hell was this girl doing? And each time she came and sat down again, she'd ask these awful questions or make remarks that have NOTHING to do with the lecture. We're talking about the yogas and she asks about Hitler's karma and what Buddhists would think about Hitler. Okay, first of all, this is the lecture on Hinduism, not Buddhism. And where did Hitler's karma have anything to do with yogas? She's sitting next-to-and-back-one from me so the whole lecture, I'm hearing her mutter things and tapping her pen and sighing. Then we go to break. I want to shove her off the balcony, but I don't. (I think a few other people did, too.) After break, we settle back in for the second half and already she starts in with the off-topic questions. "Why isn't Islam considered an Eastern religion? It's in the middle EAST isn't it?" Again, how does this relate to the topic at hand..? At about 9 o'clock, after another 20 minutes or so of her debating with the teacher, she just up and leaves. Everyone just watches here storm out and I think I saw one of the guys in the middle of the room wave at her. I'm hoping that she's ripped up her add card and won't be back in the class because really, she annoys the living crap out of half the people in the class.

Okay, I'm done with that now. I have to go to the office supply store with the boss and pick out labels. I know, this couldn't be more exciting, but try to contain your sheer delight. You have no idea what a pain in the ass this will be. Here is how I predict the event will go down: we'll get a bigass shopping cart (not needed, have you seen labels in a package?), spend 20 minutes hrmm-ing over two packages of identical labels, comparing gloss and thickness, then go find a stock boy to ask about the quality of the paper, then we will check out and after all of this, the boss will tell them that we don't need a bag, thanks. *sigh*

It is far too early in the morning to deal with this. (I know, it's almost 10, shut up.) I'm staying home this weekend - or at least in the city / county. There will be much sleeping and much crappy TV watching. I might even do laundry and clean my room, too. (I really need to do the laundry part - I'm out of socks.) So feel free to bring me offerings of food or adult beverages if you're in the neighborhood...

1 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap