mind the gap

Pulling into the station

November 03, 2003

Okay, I can't be pissed at Boyfriend right now for not returning my messages from earlier. Turns out, he left his cell on the bed here. Whoops. Kind of hard to return messages when you don't know that you have them. He's working at the hospital tonight - a 3 to 11 shift. It's raining, so I'll bet there's a lot of action in the ER tonight!

Me, I drove down to my mom's house this afternoon and helped her shop for a new computer. She got her grant from the county to go back to school and she's going to use some of that money to buy a real desktop set-up. (She's always had a tower from HP, a monitor from ____, a keyboard from _______, a printer from Xerox... etc.) She didn't buy it today, but we looked around a lot and I think she's picked one out. I went with her to the grocery store (she still can't lift the jugs of milk ot the water jugs) and we went to Target. I bought two Christmas CD's there (at Target): the Brian Setzer Orchestra one and "Christmas Attic" by the Trans-Siberian Orchestra. (I think it's Christmas Attic. It has "Christmas" and "Attic" in the title.) I know, you're probably shouting at me, "It's not Christmas yet!" Well, see, once Halloween is gone and done, you can start preparing for Christmas. The decorations cannot go up until the day after Thanksgiving, but dammit, you can buy your shiznt and get it ready to roll. And to get into the preparing to prepare mood, I throw on some Nutcracker Suite or T-SO... Maybe a little Warped Christmas Carols... Hey, I'm much better than I used to be. I used to work for Hallmark, remember, and we started Christmas in July. I started the music in September. Full-time music went into action the day after Halloween. I'm weaning my way into it this year.

It's finally winter. Last week was bloddy hot - some places hit 100, we hit about 90. By Friday, we were lucky to hit 55. And then the rains came. When Mom and I were in Target, the rain started. (It had been clear as a bell when we went IN the store.) Boyfriend had just Rain-Exed my car yesterday afternoon - thank God - so I was ready for it. I hardly had to use my wipers at all on the way home. It was pouring but that Rain-Ex... That stuff really works! The rain just rolled off the windshield. You know the screensaver "Starfield Simulation" or whatever that comes with Windows? That's what my windshield looked like. Yes, folks, this deserves the R-word. It was RAD.

We saw "Scary Movie 3" last night. Okay, not as funny as the first (what sequel is ever better than the first, though, right?), but way funnier than the second one. Brenda is back from the dead... again. And of course, Cindy is there. But don't look for the Wayans or anything - they didnt' do this one. Roomie thought it sucked, but Boyfriend and I loved it. Yup, you can buy me that on DVD when it comes out!

I'm going to go wait in bed - where it's warm! - for Boyfriend to get home. It's only about 11:20, so he should be home soon.

Have a good night, everyone, and I'll have more tomorrow (of course!).

Oh, really quick... a license plate I saw today on the way to Mom's: ANTRTCA (on a white Aztek, yay!) Get it? Oh, come on, think. If you don't get it, ask me tomorrow on AIM.

0 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap