mind the gap

Pulling into the station

July 21, 2004

Success is mine!!! I braved the mall and emerged victorious!

In case you didn't already know, I hate the mall. It is the devil's work. I hate shopping in them and I really, REALLY hate working in them. Sadly, in order to shop in a Hot Topic store, I have to venture into the pits of hell. So Danielle steered me just the right department in Macys and we picked out pants (white cotton capris with a funky buckle - very kewl) and a nice tank top (pink with a v-neckline and a collar). Then we went back down to the accessories department and I found this necklace that looks good with the shirt. And then... the earrings.

Let me step back a moment and add one thing to my list of things I cannot stand. Jennifer Lopez. J-Lo. Whatever she is this week. The Fly Girl drives me insane - and not in a good way. Saying that, back to my story...

I didn't realize until I got home that the earring set I bought was J-Lo brand. Sweet Jesus, I put more money into her pocket. Better than Kathy Lee or Mary Kate & Ashley, I suppose. But as long as I don't think about it, I'm okay with the fact that I purchased one of her items. Besides, the earrings match the necklace (which isn't one of hers, they just look good together).

So, one wedding outfit down (spent more on the accessories than on the clothes - thank you Macys pre-season sale!). Whew. With such great success, we decided to make a quick run to Hot Topic. It's only a few stores inside the mall, so I wouldn't start melting or burst into flames. I am now the proud owner of a white belt -- with silver studs. Oh and new hot pink shoelaces with black stars.

Can you wear a studded belt through the security checkpoint? Hmm... I wonder...

"How's the packing going," you ask? Well. I have the laundry done. And I know what I'm wearing to the wedding. I have underoos and socks packed. And toothpaste, jammies, and the tour book (with the handy-dandy subway map in the back). Mom and I have decided to check bags. We both realized that cramming all of our clothes AND an extra bag or two for Josh's stuff into a carry-on is just impossible. This is a good thing. I now have the room to pack the regular umbrella instead of the mini POS one I have crammed in my purse.

And I can take my teddy bear.

*

*

And I'm saying it now, if you want a friggin postcard, I need your address. Apparently, writing Jim-Bob from DiaryLand or Phil from Longs isn't good enough for the postman. Bah.

0 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap