mind the gap

Pulling into the station

December 30, 2003

I'm back! Yes, the circus that is my family was evventful to say the least. Four dogs, one cat, 13 people, and a tree. With presents. It was a cramped trip - in more ways than one! Holly, Em, Hana, Lacey, Kaylah, and I drove up on Friday (not Christmas as planned). But we only got halfway before Holly's van broke. Ah, 35 MPH on I-5 is not very good. We spent the night in hip, happenin' Orland, CA. Folks, let me assure you, there is nothing more fun than Longs Drugs on a Friday night. Just kidding. We went to the Pizza Factory for dinner and Em and I taught Kaylah how to play air hockey. (She's 3 on Friday, can't actually reach the table. We just set her on top and she whacked the hell out of the puck. Pretty good for a peanut.) On Saturday, we arrived in Oregon - the van was fixed in the morning, the mechanics bumped the other repairs so Holly could get in and out quickly. Grandma was very much suprised that I came up. She didn't hit me for lying to her, so that's good.

And there is fudge. Glorious Grandma's Fudge. Fudge that has been cause for bruises on my legs, arms, and hip; lump on my head; and various other scrapes. Jake and I fight - literally - over the last piece. Thankfully, he wasn't there to whop me on the head. I got a plate all for myself to bring home. Precious fudge... mmm...

Anyways, we opened presents, had good food, and went to see the giant Christmas cards my aunt and uncle slaved over. (The fiber optic ones.) They're cool! I took some pictures, but I don't know how well those will turn out.

Mom, Em, Kaylah, me, and the dog drove all the way home on Sunday. I got home around 10:30, really tired. It rained the whole way home, but we stopped at a vista point near Mt Shasta when it started snowing again. Kaylah has never seen real snow. It wasn't sticking to the ground, but we taught her how to catch it in her mouth and stuff. Yup, pictures of that, too. Cowboy wasn't too keen on the snow - it was too cold for him to pee so he hopped back into the car.

Jenn's hamster, Crackhead Carl, died on Christmas night. We had to bury him in the backyard. She bought a new one, Houdini, sometime over the weekend. Houdini peed in her sweatshirt pocket. Houdini is cute.

Boyfriend is coming home tomorrow night - yay! He worked the ER yesterday - 7 am to 9:30 pm - with his sister. He was so tired last night.

We're getting the new office furniture today. The store Boss bought them from called a while ago to let us know that the stuff was on a delivery truck and should be arriving soon. Yay! New things make me happy.

Speaking of making me happy... I went to the used CD store last night. Spent $50. Got 10 CDs. I was looking for four CDs in particular and found 3 of those. I got some soundtracks (PCU, Reality Bites, Clueless, Independence Day, Beavis and Butthead, My So Caled Life) and some regular CDs (Billie Myers, Poe, Eagle Eye Cherry). I'm so happy. I went to Target and bought a new CD holder - 96 instead of 48 this time. I also bought a picture frame for the pictures I got this weekend of cousins (school pictures).

And the people at Wendy's gave me a regular Coke instead of Diet. I was literally bouncing off the walls til about 12 last night. So damn hyper. I organzied my CDs into the new case, fixed the DVDs (I'm missing Full Monty, anyone seen it?), and tried to write. Agh, writing when hyper is not a good idea.

Okay, I've got to go see if I can get me some lunch. I'm starving.

0 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap