mind the gap

Pulling into the station

December 15, 2003

Not to depress anyone right now, but...

So I was talking to my mom yesterday and she told me about my cousins, Hana and Lacey. Bo is sick, and Hana is being a royal pest, as usual. My aunt and uncle are divorcing, but they're having issues getting the papers filed. Technicalities. But lets just say it's not a happy house and things aren't normal. My aunt isn't around very much, she's lost a ton of weight (hey, hon, we notice, okay), and she started smoking. My uncle isn't around much anyways (never has been). The girls are pretty much on their own til mom or dad comes home at night and even then, it must be like the Arctic in there.

The girls are so desperate for a semi-normal holiday and a stable house right now. No one has started decorating for Christmas this year yet. (I'm so ashamed.) So last week, Bo marched out to the garage, hauled their fake tree and the ornaments out and she set the thing up. Hana came home and they put up the lights and the rest of the decos. Then they found some cards that my uncle bought after Christmas last year at some sale and sat down and wrote out the Christmas cards.

So imagine the guilt that ripped through my aunt when she came home to find her two girls sitting there with the cards stamped and sealed, the tree up, and presents wrapped.

Merry Christmas, girls, I love you more than you know.

0 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap